Aasara pensions from April 1

Chief Minister KCR asks officials to work out details; provision to come into effect on April 1

By Author  |  Published: 16th Dec 2018  11:04 pm
Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao being greeted by newly elected TRS MLAs at Pragathi Bhavan on Sunday.

Hyderabad: Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao on Sunday said in accordance with the electoral promise, every elderly person on completion of 57 years will be given old age pensions. He instructed Chief Secretary SK Joshi to draft modalities pertaining to this and decide on the process of identifying eligible persons for old age pension, called Aasara pension.
The Chief Minister was chairing a meeting at Pragati Bhavan on Sunday on the various aspects of Panchayat Raj and the electoral promises made during the recent Assembly election. He said once the details of beneficiaries are worked out and the number decided, adequate budgetary provision will be made in the 2019-20 Budget. Aasara pension should be issued from April 1, 2019, he said.

Formation of news districts, mandals

Chandrashekhar Rao instructed Revenue Principal Secretary Rajeshwar Tiwari to commence the process of formation of two more districts — Mulugu and Narayanpet — in accordance with his electoral promise. He also directed him to initiate the process of forming a new Korutla revenue division and Ghattuppal mandal in Nalgonda district, and Mallampally mandal in Bhupalpally district. Rao suggested that the existing Gundala mandal in Jangoan district be merged with Yadadri Bhongir district.

Bathukamma saree distribution from dec 19

The Chief Minister instructed officials concerned that the Bathukamma sarees, which are ready for distribution, should be given out from December 19. He recalled that that though the sarees were ready for distribution ahead of the festival, it had to be put off because of complaints lodged by Congress. The saree distribution will take place along with the distribution of clothes on Christmas, he said.

MLAs to distribute Kalyana Kaxmi, Shadi Mubarak cheques

The Chief Minister said the cheques of Kalyana Laxmi and Shadi Mubarak should henceforth be distributed by MLAs as was done prior to the election code. He said in view of the model code of conduct, the cheques were distributed by Collectors for a while. But now, it should again be reverted to the old system and distributed by MLAs.