Bhanu, coxless team win gold in rowing championship

By Author  |  Sports Bureau  |  Published: 10th Jun 2018  9:07 pmUpdated: 11th Jun 2018  12:30 am
Rowers who won medals at the 21st Sub-Junior National Rowing and 3rd Inter-State Challenger Sprint Nationals.

Hyderabad: Telangana’s D Bhanu Kumar won the sub-junior single gold medal and the team of T Karthik, A Rakesh, N Hemanth and K Sai Ganesh won the gold in the sub-junior coxless four event at the 21st Sub Junior National Rowing Championship and 3rd Inter State Challenger Sprint Nationals held at Chennai from June 4 to 10.

The State rowers also won four silver medals and one bronze medal and came out 13 points to top the overall championship for the fourth straight year.

B Hemalatha, D Sairaju And T Sunil have been selected from the state to represent to India in the forthcoming Junior Asian Rowing Championship to be held at Chungju, South Korea from June 24 to 30.

Winners: Boys: D Bhanu Kumar (Gold, Single Scull, TS Sports School), B Rakesh, E Ramakrishna (Bronze, Coxless Four, TS Sports School), T Karthik, A Rakesh, N Hemanth, K Sai Ganesh (Gold, Coxless Pair, TS Sports School);

Girls: P Pavani, K Udaya Bhanu, Sindhu K, K Udaya Bhanu (Silver, Coxless Four, TS Sports School), Bhavvya M, Bharathi K (Silver, Coxless Pair, TS Sports School), K Nandini, B Avanthika (Silver, Double Scull Hyderabad Public School);
Men: Johnson Varghese, Sunil (Silver, Coxless Pair, Artillery Center).