KCR to take fresh guard on Thursday

One or two persons will be sworn in along with KCR on Thursday and the Cabinet expansion will be carried out in the next four or five days.

By   |  Published: 13th Dec 2018  12:57 am
TRS chief K Chandrashekhar Rao addressing the media at TRS Bhavan in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

Hyderabad: TRS president K Chandrashekhar Rao will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Telangana State for a second consecutive term by Governor E S L Narasimhan at 1.25 pm on Thursday, at a simple ceremony at Raj Bhavan here. He was unanimously elected as the leader of the TRS Legislature Party at a meeting of all the party MLAs-elect at Telangana Bhavan on Wednesday afternoon. G Sunitha representing Alair Assembly constituency proposed

Chandrashekhar Rao’s name and it was seconded by Dharmapuri MLA-elect Koppula Eeshwar.
“One or two persons will be sworn in along with me on Thursday and the Cabinet expansion will be carried out in the next four or five days,” Chandrashekhar Rao told mediapersons at Telangana Bhavan after his election as the TRSLP leader.

Earlier during the day, MLAs-elect Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, P Laxma Reddy, V Srinivas Goud and others submitted the resolution electing Chandrashekhar Rao as the TRSLP leader to the Governor, who invited the TRS president to form the government.

Earlier in the day, Chandrashekhar Rao and all his Cabinet colleagues in the caretaker government submitted their resignations to Governor Narasimhan. The Governor accepted the resignations and instructed the Chief Secretary to issue a Gazette notification for the formation of a new government.

In all, 88 TRS candidates were elected to the 119-member Legislative Assembly. The ruling party’s strength is likely to touch the 90-mark with Korukanti Chander, who was elected on an All India Forward Bloc ticket from Ramagundem Assembly constituency and independent MLA-elect Ramulu Naik from Wyra extending their support to the TRS. The two called on Sircilla MLA-elect K T Rama Rao at his camp office and extended their support to the TRS.

Chandrashekhar Rao said TRS was the only party in the country which had implemented cent per cent of the promises made in the 2014 election manifesto. “Not only did we fulfill all the promises but we also introduced several innovative welfare schemes such as Rythu Bandhu, Rythu Bhima, Kanti Velugu and KCR Kits which were not part of the manifesto. I assure the people of the State that we will strive to implement all the promises made in the 2018 manifesto, and go beyond it this time too,” he said.