Khammam Lok Sabha constituency profile

It is going to be an all-out war between TRS and Congress — only dominant parties left out in Khammam's political landscape

By Author  |  Published: 16th Mar 2019  12:38 amUpdated: 16th Mar 2019  12:45 am

Hyderabad: It has for decades been a two-horse race between the Communists and the Congress in Khammam, but the revolution that has been in the air for long is on the wane. The upcoming election to the Lok Sabha constituency is going to be a fight between the TRS and the Congress.

With the advent of the TRS in Khammam, no trace was left of many political parties, including CPI, CPIM, CPIML-New democracy and YSRCP. Even the TDP got decimated in the constituency as well as in the district. It is again a two-horse race, but this time it is going to be an all-out war between pink panthers of the TRS and the Congress — only dominant parties left out in Khammam’s political landscape.

The TRS, which had won the Assembly constituencies of Kothagudem (2014) and Palair (2016 bypolls), had lost both segments of the Khammam Lok Sabha constituency in 2018 Assembly elections. The party had a solitary win with the Khammam Assembly constituency voting for the TRS nominee Puvvada Ajay.

Though it had been steeped into the history of the Communists, the electorate appeared to amenable to the influences of caste and community politics. The electorate, which has a mix of farmers, farm and industrial workers, coal miners, tribes and non-tribes, is known for its political consciousness.

Those elected as the MLAs in December last as the nominees of different political parties, including the Congress and the TDP, are looking forward to the ruling TRS for support for the development of their constituencies. The MLAs of Sathupalli (TDP), (Congress), Palair (Congress) and Wyra (Ind) have already out of the fold of their respective parties.

The TRS is appearing resurgent and the mood is upbeat in its camp. The party is reworking on its strategies to address the ills that plagued its electoral prospects in important assembly constituencies such as Kothagudem, Palair, Wyra, Sathupalli, Madhira and Aswaraopet.

The Khammam Parliamentary constituency was represented by stalwarts such as Jalagam Vengal Rao (1984-89) in the past. Those elected from the constituencies in the later phases include PV Rangaiah Naidu (1991-96), Tammineni Veerabhadram (1996-98), Nadendla Bhaskar Rao (1998-99), Renuka Chowdhury (1999-2004, 2004-2009) and Nama Nageswar Rao (2009-2014). Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy, who was elected from the Khammam Lok Sabha in 2014, shifted his loyalties to the TRS.

The major achievement of the TRS government was the implementation of the Bhaktaramdas Lift Irrigation Scheme. The implementation of Sitarama Lift Irrigation Scheme to make use of the  Godavari water is also holding hope for the entire district.

The outcome of the election to the Khammam Parliamentary constituency is expected to be different from the Assembly elections.  Congress had won three seats – Madhira, Kothagudem and Palair while the TDP bagged Sathupalli and Aswaraopet.  Khammam and Wyra were won by the TRS and an independent.

“Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on WhatsApp everyday.
Click this link to subscribe and save this number 9182563636 on your contacts.”