Law and order situation worsening under TDP rule: Jagan

By Author  |  Published: 16th Apr 2019  11:30 pm

Hyderabad: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu came under attack from all sides on Tuesday following his outbursts against the new AP Chief Secretary L V Subramanyam and the Chief Electoral Officer Gopal Krishna Dwivedi that stirred the hornet’s nest. Leader of the opposition and YSRCP chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy came down heavily against Naidu for threatening the Chief Electoral Officer and accusing him of acting according to the diktats of the YSRCP.

He pointed out that the law and order situation was worsening in AP because of the TDP-sponsored violence. The YSRCP leaders and elected representatives were targeted by the TDP workers in different places during the just concluded elections. Jagan who called on Governor ESL Narasimhan sought his intervention to uphold the sanctity of various institutions in the State. In the wake of alleged attempts to open the strongrooms where the EVMs were stored, he also wanted the Governor to take steps to ensure the safekeeping of the EVMs.

A delegation of retired IAS officers from AP led by former Chief Secretary IVR Krishna Rao, T Gopala Rao and Ajay Kallam met the Governor and lodged a protest against the Naidu’s attempts to denigrade the high offices of administration including the Chief Secretary. They urged the Governor to see that Naidu was given counselling so that he would realise the importance of the offices of the Chief Secretary and CEO. They said Subramanyam was referred to by the Chief Minister as a co-accused in a CBI case, when in fact, he was given clean chit by the High Court.

The JNU Alumni, Hyderabad, also condemned the remarks of Naidu against Subramanyam, a JNU alumnus. A statement issued by G V Rao, Papa Rao (retired IAS), NVS Reddy, M D Metro Hyderabad, Sunderkumar Das, IPS officer, Dr Venugopala Rao, Social Scientist, Suresh Reddy, Jayaprakash and others said that Chandrababu Naidu’s outbursts were uncalled for and unbecoming of a Chief Minister.