Mahabubabad: CPI(ML) New Democracy member arrested

By Author  |  Published: 8th Sep 2017  10:50 pm

Mahabubabad: Kothaguda police arrested Boorka Prathap alias Shyam, a member of CPI(ML) New Democracy (Pedda Chandranna group), from his in-law’s house at Laxmipuram village in Kothaguda mandal on Friday and recovered five rounds of SLR and revolutionary literature from his possession.

Producing him before media at town police station in Mahabubabad, Superintendent of Police PN Koti Reddy said Prathap, a native of Gunjedu village, joined the CPI (ML) underground cadre in 2005 for his ‘fascination’ to weapons.

He joined the Kothaguda local area squad led by T Rama Rao alias Ganesh and later shifted to Suryam’s squad as Rama Rao was killed in a police encounter in 2010.

As the party was divided in 2013 as Chinna Chandranna’s group aka Royala group and Pedda Chadranna’s group aka Narayana Swamy group, he continued with the Suryam’s squad of Pedda Chandranna group.

“Four squads — headed by Suryam, Ashok, Sudhakar and Ramanna — are working for the Pedda Chandranna group in Mahabubabad, Bhadradri-Kothagudem and Khammam districts,” the SP said, and added that they had been extorting money from businessmen, contractors and others in the name of the party fund.

“These members are also threatening forest officials who are trying to reclaim the forest lands illegally occupied by some people,” the SP added. It is said that there are five members, including the squad leader Suryam, in the Suryam’s squad. The members of the Suryam squad include Solem Pradeep, Jakkula Sammaiah, Vikram and Bangari Vinoda. They are carrying two SLRs, a 9-mm carbine and three 8 mm rifles, and the squad is operating in the areas of Pakhal-Kothaguda.