Medak Lok Sabha constituency profile

No stopping TRS in Medak

By Author  |  Published: 14th Mar 2019  10:41 pmUpdated: 15th Mar 2019  12:59 am

Hyderabad: Medak district, and the Lok Sabha constituency that carries its names has been known for nearly a hundred years for its famed Medak Church Cathedral. In fact, the Cathedral is set to celebrate its centenary in 2024, the year when the 17th Lok Sabha elections, which are to be held on April 11, will complete its term.

Though historically the constituency has much to offer, politically it came into its own in 1980 when Indira Gandhi contested from here, won, and went on to become the Prime Minister. With its neighbouring Hyderabad already a well-established centre for India’s defence services, the setting up of the Ordinance Factory Medak added industrial and economic muscle to the Medak Lok Sabha constituency.

The constituency is not just a bastion for Christianity and India’s defence preparedness. Since 2004, it has stood by solidly with Telangana Rashtra Samiti virtually shutting out all opposition parties, particularly Congress, TDP, and the BJP. The TRS began its successful roll in Medak with A Narendra winning in 2004.

Narendra, the then BJP strongman in united Andhra Pradesh joined the TRS that was then in the middle of a growing movement for a separate Telangana State. In 2009, it was actress M Vijaya Shanti who won on the TRS ticket followed by TRS president K Chandrashekhar Rao in the 2014 elections. With KCR resigning from the seat to head the first-ever government in the new State of Telangana, Medak went for a bypoll and remained true in its support to TRS by electing Kotha Prabhakar Reddy.

The elections to the State Legislative Assembly in December 2018 once again proved that there was little to challenge the TRS in Medak. The party won from six of the seven Assembly constituencies that comprise Medak Lok Sabha constituency. The lone exception was the victory of Turupu Jayaprkash Reddy, popular as Jagga Reddy, from the Sangareddy constituency. The Lok Sabha constituency is also home to Gajwel Assembly segment from where Chandrashekhar Rao won, as well as Siddipet from where TRS candidate T Harish Rao registered a thumping victory. Medak Lok Sabha constituency, as per the 2011 census, is predominantly rural with 71.14 per cent of its nearly 21 lakh population dependent on agriculture and allied activities.