Navy decommissions INS Konkan, Cannanore, Cuddalore ships

By Author  |  Published: 24th Mar 2018  8:40 pmUpdated: 25th Mar 2018  12:53 am
Indian Naval Ships
Vice Admiral MS Pawar reviewing the Guard of Honour prior to the decommissioning ceremony. Photo: By Arrangement

Visakhapatnam: Indian Naval Ships Konkan, Cannanore and Cuddalore were decommissioned in a solemn ceremony conducted at Naval Dockyard in Visakhapatnam on Friday evening.

Vice Admiral MS Pawar, Chief of Staff, Eastern Naval Command was the chief guest on the occasion. The three retired commissioning Commanding Officers – Rear Admiral Ravi Gaikawad of Canannore, Rear Admiral PK Nair of Cuddalore and Commodore Mohandas of Konkan were the guests of honour.

As the sun slowly set in, these three ships retired after three decades of glorious service in the Indian Navy. The decommissioning ceremony was attended by as many as 38 erstwhile Commanding Officers and nearly 500 personnel who served on board these ships.

Vice Admiral Pawar paid tributes to the crew of the three ships and highlighted the contributions of the ships to the country’s maritime security and their participation in various operations ranging over three decades.

It was a poignant moment for those witnessing the ensigns of the warships being lowered for the last time, as the ceremonial guards on board, gave these vessels a final salute as a tribute to three decades of glorious service rendered by each of these ships.