Rythu Bandhu: Rs 4,114 cr ready for distribution

Finance Dept officials to meet RBI authorities on Wednesday for release of another Rs 2,000 cr.

By Author  |  Published: 1st May 2018  9:16 pm
File photo of Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao

Hyderabad: Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao announced on Tuesday that Rs 4,114.2 crore cash has been kept ready for distribution in banks to provide crop investment to farmers under the Rythu Bandhu scheme to be launched on May 10. Officials of the Finance department will meet RBI authorities on Wednesday seeking release of another Rs 2,000 crore in cash to ensure that about Rs 6,000 crore cash was available in banks before the launch of the scheme.

Reviewing the arrangements for implementation of the Rythu Bandhu scheme at Pragati Bhavan, the Chief Minister said the beneficiaries can encash their cheques in eight banks — SBI, Telangana Grameena Bank, Grameena Vikas Bank, Canara Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Corporation Bank, Andhra Bank and Syndicate Bank. “The banks should be fully prepared to facilitate encashment of cheques immediately and ensure that cash released for farmers is not used for any other purpose,” he warned.

Cheques reach mandals

A majority of cheques and passbooks meant for distribution had reached the mandal headquarters. “Keeping in view the scorching temperatures, the distribution of cheques and passbooks should be conducted between 7 am and 11 am in the morning and 5 pm and 7.30 pm in the evening,” the Chief Minister told the officials. Pattadar passbooks will be distributed to about 57.33 lakh farmers. However, cheques will be distributed to only 52.72 lakh farmers as around 4.6 lakh farmers did not seed their Aadhaar cards with passbooks.

The Chief Minister asked the officials not to rush through distribution of cheques and passbooks, considering the scorching heat. The cheque distribution programme can be extended by a couple of days, he said.

State Advisor Anurag Sharma, Principal Secretaries S Narsing Rao, C Parthasarathi, Ramakrishna Rao, Rajeshwar Tiwari, Shanta Kumari, Agriculture Commissioner Jaganmohan Rao, Land Administration Director Vakati Karuna, IT Commissioner Venkateshwara Rao, OSD Rajit Shiney and CMO Special Secretary Smita Sabarwal, were present at the meeting.