Sahiti Manikyam Award presented

Writers Kotla Venkateswar Reddy and Prasada Murthy presented Sahiti Manikyam-2018 at a ceremony in Khammam on Saturday.

By Author  |  State Bureau  |  Published: 13th Jan 2019  12:25 am

The literature created by poets, writers and scholars during separate Telangana movement would forever remain in the hearts of the public, stated Telangana BC Commission member Juluri Gowri Shankar. One could assess the artistic or intellectual merit of a society by means of literature produced in that land. Every society honours its poets and writers, he said speaking at ‘Sahiti Manikyam-2018’ award presentation ceremony here on Saturday.

Stating that Telangana has been a school of self-respect Shankar said the literary tradition handed over by noted poet Pothana was being continued by later generations because of the land was characterised by its abounding self-esteem and self-respect.In the age of globalisation the writers and poets here fought for Telangana cause, he said.

Telangana Resource Centre Chairman M Vedakumar felt that writers who authored books on the themes of people’s rights, environment protection and for children should be encouraged with awards. The annual ‘Sahiti Manikyam-2018’ award constituted in honour of Ravulapati Narayana Manikyam was presented to the writers Kotla Venkateswar Reddy and Prasada Murthy by the guests.

Hyderabad Book Fair Society secretary K Chandramohan, Prof. S Raghu, poets Sitram, M Srinivas Rao, Prasen, IV Ramana Rao, Qadar Mohiuddin, and retired ACP Venkateswarlu were present.