Tandur Assembly constituency profile

Tandur is known for limestone industries, cement industries and redgram production.

By Author  |  Published: 12th Oct 2018  9:31 pm

Tandur Assembly constituency comes under newly created Vikarabad district. Previously, it was part of erstwhile Rangareddy district. It was formed in 1962 and the constituency includes Tandur, Peddemul and Basheerabad and Yalal mandals. It was an SC-reserved constituency since its creation. Besides being an important railway junction, Tandur town is known for limestone industries, cement industries and redgram production.


The constituency has a total 2,59,526 population as per the estimates of 2011 census. Out of the total population, 72.32 per cent live in rural areas and 27.68 per cent reside in urban population. The Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes form 15.2 per cent and 9.39 per cent respectively of the total population. According to the special summary revision-2018, the total electorate of 1,95,922 in the constituency includes 96,276 males and 99,636 females. The third gender voters are 10.

Political History

The constituency was created in 1952 and was reserved under the General category. Politics in the Assembly segment were dominated by the Congress which won eight times, followed by the TDP (3 times). The TRS made its debut in 2014 general elections. Currently, senior Minister Patnam Mahender Reddy is representing the constituency. He served as Minister in the Chandrababu Naidu government earlier.

2014 Elections

TRS candidate P Mahender Reddy won the seat in 2014 general elections by a margin of 16,074 votes against his nearest rival Malkud Narayan Rao of the Congress. While Mahender Reddy was polled 61,293 votes, Narayan Rao got 45,219 votes. Mahender Reddy will represent the TRS in the upcoming elections.