TDP’s Kakinada MP Thota to join YSRCP

Husband was humiliated in the party, says his wife

By Author  |   AP Bureau  |  Published: 12th Mar 2019  11:13 pm
TDP’s Kakinada MP Thota to join YSRCP
Thota Narasimham

Visakhapatnam: The ruling Telugu Desam Party is undergoing a turmoil with the general elections fast approaching as many of its leaders deserting it and the remaining indulging in group politics.

The party witnessed another setback as its Member of Parliament (MP) from Kakinada Thota Narasimham and his wife Vani decided to quit TDP to join YSR Congress Party (YSRCP). Vani told media persons in Kakinada that her husband was humiliated in the party. “Both of us went to meet Chief Minister many times despite my husband’s poor health, but there was no proper response. As my husband is unwell, we sought Peddapuram Assembly ticket to me but we did not get any assurance. We are joining the YSRCP on Wednesday,” she said.

Earlier, former TDP MLA from Palakollu Dr Ch Satyanarayana Murthy (Babjee) along with his followers joined the YSRCP in the presence of the party president YS Jaganmohan Reddy. A surgeon, Dr Babjee won on TDP ticket in 2004.

The ruling party is also busy tackling group rivalry in several districts. Many TDP leaders were seen going all the way to Amaravati only to express resentment over the sitting MLAs’ attitude with plea not to renominate them.

In Visakhapatnam, former MLA Dr SA Rahman with senior leaders like Dr Zaheer Ahmed held a media conference demanding that Visakhapatnam South legislator and TDP urban district president Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar should not be given the ticket this time. The party should provide an opportunity to Muslims in the constituency, particularly because Ganesh Kumar’s winning chances were poor, they felt.

Even some top leaders like Ministers Ganta Srinivasa Rao and Sidda Raghavarao appear unhappy with the party’s high command attitude as they were being pressurised to contest for the Lok Sabha and not the Assembly. Ganta was asked to be ready to contest from Visakhapatnam and Raghavarao from Ongole. Some other seniors like Kodela Sivaprasad and Kothapalli Subbarayudu were also being persuaded to contest for the Parliament much against their wish.