Telangana: Election of ZP, MPP chairpersons after July 5

With the term of sitting members ending on July 3, election of chairpersons of Zilla Praja Parishads and Mandal Praja Parishads will be conducted after July 5.

By Author  |  Published: 15th May 2019  11:51 pm

Hyderabad: After the successful completion of the ZPTC and MPTC elections, the State Election Commission is gearing up for the counting and declaration of results on May 27.

With the term of sitting members ending on July 3, election of chairpersons of Zilla Praja Parishads and Mandal Praja Parishads will be conducted after July 5. But, the election of ZP and MPP chairpersons in erstwhile Khammam district will be conducted after August 4 after the term of the sitting chairpersons ends.

As against 538 ZPTCs and 5,817 MPTCs in the State, about four ZPTC and 158 MPTCs were elected unanimously. Except for six MPTC seats won by Congress and independent candidates, the remaining four ZPTCs and 152 MPTCs were secured by TRS during the unanimous elections. In all, 2,426 candidates contested for ZPTC and 18,990 for MPTC.

State Election Commissioner V Nagi Reddy said all arrangements were being made for the counting process scheduled for May 27 at 8 am. About 1.2 crore of the 1.56 crore voters exercised their franchise in the Parishad elections, recording more than 77 per cent polling.

“Only at seven polling stations, we had to conduct re-polling due to human error, resulting in printing and distribution of ballot papers. Otherwise, the polling was conducted in a smooth and successful manner without any law and order issue,” he said.

Elaborate arrangements were made for the counting with the ballot boxes locked up in 536 strong rooms, which are secured with armed forces. The counting would be conducted in three stages — polling station-wise counting of ballot papers, bundling of ballot papers and cross-checking the bundles for any error before the final counting of votes. About 978 counting halls were readied where 11,882 counting supervisors and 23,647 counting assistants are deployed.

In connection with the seizure of Rs 10 lakh from one of the contestants at Gaggalapalli MPTC in Nagarkurnool district, Nagi Reddy said the State Election Commission took the issue seriously and also registered a criminal case against the person who was caught distributing the cash. “If proved guilty, the candidate will be barred from contesting elections for six years,” he said.

During the elections, the authorities seized Rs 1.09 crore cash and another Rs 1.04 crore in other items, including liquor.

MLC polls: 25 candidates in fray, 4 rejected

After scrutiny of nominations, 25 candidates remained in the fray for the bypolls being held for three MLC seats under the local authorities constituencies quota. The nominations of four candidates were rejected by the Election Commission of India (EC) for want of documents, among other reasons.

Three candidates each will contest from Ranga Reddy and Nalgonda constituencies, while Warangal will have 19. TRS candidates former Minister Patnam Mahender Reddy, party joint secretary Pochampally Srinivas Reddy and industrialist Tera Chinnappu Reddy filed their nominations from Ranga Reddy, Warangal and Nalgonda seats respectively. K Uday Mohan Reddy (Ranga Reddy), Komatireddy Laxmi Reddy (Nalgonda) and Engala Venkatram Reddy (Warangal) are contesting the bypolls from Congress.

EC also declared that a total 2,799 voters would cast their vote in 25 polling stations. Nalgonda local authorities constituency has the highest number of 1,086 voters, followed by 902 in Warangal and 811 in Ranga Reddy. Polling for the local authorities constituencies is on May 31.