Telangana Rashtra Samithi leads municipal race

Entire Opposition especially Congress and BJP were no match to TRS on its victory march.

By Author  |  Published: 25th Jan 2020  9:42 amUpdated: 25th Jan 2020  1:20 pm
Telangana Rashtra Samithi leads municipal race

Hyderabad: Hurtling towards a handsome victory, TRS won 872 out of 2,979 wards across 129 Urban Local Bodies by noon. Even as counting of votes is in progress, the party is leading in over 1,100 wards. Besides reigning supremacy in over 110 civic bodies, the party is set to register a clean sweep in over 15 municipalities in the State.

Entire Opposition especially Congress and BJP were no match to TRS on its victory march. Congress is leading in about 244 wards, relegating BJP to third position with 116 wards and AIMIM secured 20. Interestingly, independents are dominating over the Opposition parties, while BJP gained over its previous performances eating into Congress seats. In many wards, the opponents to TRS candidates are expected to lose their deposits.

Soon after the counting began at 8 am, the ruling TRS took early leads in municipal elections. The party already registered a win in municipalities of IDI Bolaram, Bhingal, Alampur, Dornakal, Marapada, Sattupalli, Dharmapuri and Periyapalli. In some municipalities such as Dornakal and Bheemgal, TRS won all the 15 wards registering a clean sweep. The party has clear majority to secure chairperson posts in more than 40 places such as Wardhannapet, Maripeda, Gundla Pochampally and other places.

Celebrations broke out at the Telangana Bhavan, the headquarters of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), as election results turned in favour of the party. TRS working president KT Rama Rao reviewed the party performance in the municipal polls even as he monitored results from Telangana Bhavan. Chief Minister and TRS President K Chandrashekhar Rao is all set to address people of the State at 3 pm on Saturday and thank them for their faith in TRS.

The polling for the urban local body elections were held on Wednesday with 70.26 percent voter turnout. About 12,900 candidates were in the fray from various political parties as well as independent candidates.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on WhatsApp / Telegram everyday. Click these links to subscribe and save this number 9182563636 on your contacts.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .