Telangana: Two ex-officio votes turn controversial

The BJP objected to Keshav Rao voting as ex officio member as it got nine votes against 5 of TRS.

By Author  |  Published: 27th Jan 2020  3:45 pmUpdated: 27th Jan 2020  6:48 pm

Hyderabad: The ex-officio votes of Rajya Sabha members of the sibling states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh have turned into a bone of contention on the day of election for Mayors and Chairpersons of corporations and Municipalities.

While the TRS objected to Congress Rajya Sabha member KVP Ramachandra Rao’s vote under Telangana quota in Neredcherla in Suryapet district, the BJP objected to TRS RS Member Dr K Keshava Rao’s ex-officio vote in Tukkuguda Municipality. Keshav Rao comes under AP quota, BJP leaders contended. The BJP objected to Keshav Rao voting as ex officio member as it got nine votes against 5 of TRS. With Keshav Rao on their side, the TRS position is bound to improve.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

In Neredcherla, local MLA Saidireddy objected to the permission given to Ramachandra Rao to vote saying that the Centre in a gazette notification in December 2014, had made it clear that the entry of Ramachandra Rao shall be substituted with the entry of Dr K Keshava Rao making it amply clear that the former cannot vote in Telangana.

“We came here to vote after the Telangana State Election Commission gave us permission to vote. But we have been obstructed by local officials even though Congress has majority here,” TPCC chief and MP N Uttam Kumar Reddy said in Neredcherla.

Meanwhile, the TSEC in a notification issued here on Monday, ordered the presiding officer at Neredcherla to proceed with the election by including all the members finalised on January 25 and said that it had earlier suspended the order issued by the Municipal commissioner rejecting the option given to Ramachandra Rao.

The TSEC also directed the District Collector to change the timings of oath-taking and special meeting of indirect election process of Neredcherla Municipality. As per the latest orders, the time fixed for administration of oath to elected ward members will be at 3 pm and election of chairperson and vice chairperson will be at 4 pm.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on WhatsApp / Telegram everyday. Click these links to subscribe and save this number 9182563636 on your contacts.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter