TPCC to protest against pending projects on June 2

The TPCC chief said party leaders would participate in another deeksha on June 6 at pending projects on the Godavari

By Author  |  Published: 23rd May 2020  9:45 pm

Hyderabad: The Congress has decided to take up a day-long “deeksha” at different pending projects on the Krishna river on June 2, the Formation Day of Telangana, from 10 am to 5 pm, said TPCC chief and Nalgonda MP N Uttam Kumar Reddy.

While Uttam, K Jana Reddy, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy will participate in the deeksha at SLBC, Bhatti Vikramarka, Seethakka and Podem Veeraiah will protest at the Paleru reservoir, followed by Revanth Reddy and Konda Vishveshwar Reddy at the Lakshmidevipalli reservoir, Nagam Janardhan Reddy at the Yelluru reservoir, Chinna Reddy at Karivena, Sampath Kumar at Nettempadu, and Vamsichand Reddy at Kalwakurthy.

The TPCC chief said party leaders would participate in another deeksha on June 6 at pending projects on the Godavari. “We will question the Chief Minister why he has not taken up Tummidihatti where water would have flown on gravity,” Uttam said. He further alleged that the government’s new agricultural policy was full of lacunae and would hurt the free will of farmers.

“Why the government is sympathetic towards cotton and not on corn. Who gave the right to the government to ask farmers not to sell seed corn,” he questioned. He said the party would sue the District Collector that directed farmers not to sell seed corn. District Congress Committees would meet the local farmers to discuss these issues on June 3 and 4. He said farmers would not accept the new regulation and demanded that the government assure cotton farmers that the government would offer a price of Rs 7,000 per quintal.

While announcing that the Congress will meet Prime Minister and Finance Minister to complain about the State’s economic policies, Uttam criticised the government for granting permission to set up private universities. He demanded that reservations be implemented in appointments and admissions in these universities. Alleging that the lands of Osmania University were being encroached, he said TPCC members would visit the university on Sunday.

The TPCC also formed four committees to fight against the government’s policies. The Economic Affairs Committee under CLP leader Bhatti Vikramarka, Education and OU Lands Committee under Ponnala Prabhakar, New Agricultural Policy under Chinna Reddy and Kodanda Reddy and pending Godavari projects under Jeevan Reddy.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .