TRS improves its tally in South Telangana

The TRS this time focused on South Telangana to increase its strength significantly and succeeded in its endeavour.

By   |  Published: 13th Dec 2018  12:30 amUpdated: 13th Dec 2018  1:02 am
Fans and supporters of Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao wait excitedly outside Telangana Bhavan on Wednesday to greet him the day after the TRS registered a massive victory in the Assembly elections. Photo:Hrudayanand.

Hyderabad: The TRS did exceedingly well in South Telangana bagging 49 of the 65 Assembly seats in the region. In 2014, the party could win only 26 seats, accounting for 40 per cent. The percentage now went up to 75 per cent.

Interestingly, the party got only 33 of the 54 seats in North Telangana, accounting for 61 per cent, four seats less than the last time. It may be recalled that on September 27, ‘Telangana Today’ reported that the wind was blowing in the TRS way in South Telangana comprising Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda, Medak, Rangareddy and Hyderabad districts.

The TRS this time focused on South Telangana to increase its strength significantly and succeeded in its endeavour. In Mahabubnagar district where the TRS had only five seats in 2014, it was a virtual sweep for the party, winning 13 of the 14 seats this time around. In the process, it dealt a major blow to Congress by ensuring the defeat of stalwarts like A Revanth Reddy, former Ministers DK Aruna, G Chinna Reddy, Nagam Janardhan Reddy and other leaders Mallu Ravi, Vamshi Chander Reddy, A Sampath Kumar, Pratap Reddy and Vamshi Krishna.

Similarly, in Nalgonda district, the TRS performed well and got nine seats out of the total 12 seats. Former Ministers Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, K Jana Reddy, R Damodhar Reddy lost the election to the TRS candidates.

In Hyderabad, four BJP seats — Amberpet, Musheerabad, Khairtabad and Uppal — went to the TRS. Strengthening irrigation facilities brought a tremendous change in Mahabubnagar and Nalgonda districts, so much so that there was a reverse migration in these districts after the TRS came to power in 2014. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao and Irrigation Minister T Harish Rao concentrated a lot on improving irrigation facilities in these districts and it paid dividends. People from Wanaparthy, Gadwal, Kalwakurthy, Kodangal and Narayanpet Assembly constituencies gave a clear mandate to the TRS.