Umpires’ blunder robs NZ of glory

Former international umpire Simon Taufel, a five-time winner of the ICC’s Umpire of the Year award and widely viewed as one of the greatest umpires this century, pointed out that England were wrongly awarded extra run in the crucial 50th over.

By Author  |  Published: 16th Jul 2019  12:38 am
New Zealand's captain Kane Williamson reacts as he waits for the trophy presentation after losing the Cricket World Cup final match between England and New Zealand at Lord's cricket ground in London, Sunday, July 14, 2019.AP/PTI

Hyderabad: Even as England were celebrating their first-ever World Cup triumph at Lord’s amid high drama, doubts have been raised whether the Eoin Morgan-led side were one short in the dramatic Super Over climax.

Former international umpire Simon Taufel, a five-time winner of the ICC’s Umpire of the Year award and widely viewed as one of the greatest umpires this century, pointed out that England were wrongly awarded extra run in the crucial 50th over. “They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six.”

Taufel was referring to the six runs awarded to England in the 49.3 overs when the home team required nine runs from the final three deliveries. It all happened man of the match Ben Stokes hit Trent Boult to the deep and Martin Guptill’s throw had accidentally hit the outstretched bat of the English left-hander and the ball deflected to the fine leg boundary.

The vigilant Taufel pointed out umpires Marius Erasmas and Kumar Dharmasena erred by awarding six runs, two and a boundary, to the batsman, instead of five. It also kept Stokes on strike instead of Adil Rashid. It even reduced the home side’s target to three runs off two balls. England went on tie the match and the hosts prevailed in Super Over contest.
According to Taufel, the MCC Rule 19:8 states that, in the event of an overthrow, the runs scored are the allowance for the boundary and “the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

At the instant of the throw by the fielder (at the moment, the ball left the fielder’s hand), the batsmen had not crossed for the second run. So it should have been 1 run plus 4 runs for overthrow boundary. Total 5 runs should have been scored instead of 6 runs. Ben Stokes should have been at the non-striker’s end on the next delivery and England requiring 4 runs from 2 balls with Rashid on strike.

An extract of the Law: 19.8 OVERTHROW OR WILFUL ACT OF FIELDER

If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side (none in this case) and the allowance for the boundary (4 runs for overthrow boundary in this case) and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act. (At the instant of throw by fielder only 1 run was completed and the batsmen had not crossed each other for the second run at that moment. So only the first completed run counts resulting in a total of 1 run + 4 runs for overthrow boundary = total 5 runs. The second run could have been counted only if the batsmen had crossed each other during the second run before the fielder had throw the ball).

Clearly, it was heartbreak for New Zealand, who were victims of circumstance, ended on losers’ side. Be it the extra run or the Super Over finish.

 

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on WhatsApp / Telegram everyday. Click these links to subscribe and save this number 9182563636 on your contacts.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .