Uttam’s victory revives Congress’ hopes in Nalgonda

The Congress leader consistently led in all the 25 rounds of counting

By Author  |  Published: 23rd May 2019  8:37 pm
Uttam Kumar Reddy
Uttam Kumar Reddy (file photo)

Nalgonda: TPCC president Uttam Kumar Reddy pulled off a surprise victory from Nalgonda Parliament constituency by a good majority of votes. His victory gains significance since six of the seven Assembly constituencies under Nalgonda Lok Sabha constituency went the TRS way in the 2018 Assembly elections. Uttam Kumar Reddy won by a margin of 25,682 votes majority, securing 5,26,028 votes (44.74 per cent) as against 5,00,346 votes (42.56 per cent) polled by his nearest rival and TRS candidate V Narender Reddy.

The Congress leader consistently led in all the 25 rounds of counting. Of the seven Assembly constituencies, Uttam Kumar Reddy maintained winning lead in five Assembly segments – Devarakonda, Nagarjuna Sagar, Miryalaguda, Huzurnagar and Kodad. His victory in the elections comes as a shot in the arm for the Congress cadre in the district who believe it will help in reviving the party.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on WhatsApp / Telegram everyday. Click this link to subscribe and save this number 9182563636 on your contacts.