When craze for MAA elections went up

In a totally cinematic way, nail-biting moments leading up to the announcement of actor Naresh's victory were lapped up by movie buffs

By Author  |  Published: 11th Mar 2019  7:57 pm
MAA elections

The Film Chamber of Commerce has declared yesterday that actor Naresh emerged victorious by winning the majority number of votes in the elections held for Movie Artists Association on March 10, for the year 2019. Dr VK Naresh registered victory as many of the biggies like Krishna, Vijaya Nirmala, Chiranjeevi and Mahesh Babu from the Telugu film industry have supported him.

While talking at the press meet which was held on Monday morning at the Film Chamber of Commerce, Naresh said, “I thank all my friends and colleagues from the industry for supporting me and voting for me. My panel and I promise that we will do our best and live up to the expectations of all those people who voted for us. I congratulate all the members of my panel.”

While Naresh was chosen as President and Rajasekhar as Executive President, Hema and SV Krishna Reddy are Vice-presidents, Jeevitha Rajasekhar is General Secretary and Gowtham Raju and Sivabalaji became the Joint Secretaries.

EC Members are Ali, Ravi Prakash, Tanikella Bharani, Sai Kumar, Uttej, Suresh Kondeti, Ashok Kumar, Sriram Edida, Sameer, Raja Ravindra, Jayalakshmi, Karate Kalyani, Venu Madhav and others.

Election manifesto

While ‘Safeguarding the dignity of MAA members’ and ‘Maintaining transparency’ occupied a prominent place in the manifesto presented by Naresh’s panel, other points included Availability of office bearers to resolve any issue; Helpline will remain active; 1 day in a month for receiving complaints; 24*7 availability during emergency period; Increasing welfare schemes upon conducting yet another survey.

The Welfare Schemes promised by the panel in their agenda includes Rs 6,000 Pension per month; Medical and Life Insurance; Educational Support – KG to PG; Kalyana Lakshmi – Rs 1,00,116; Bikes and Scooters; Pension increase for women who don’t have financial support from family.

Sudden curiosity

Earlier, people and movie buffs wouldn’t even know when these elections used to happen and who the president of MAA was. It’s only in the recent times that the craze for these elections has increased as public came to know that there is something called MAA and how it affects the life of film artistes.

Of late, the Movie Artists Association has been doing a tremendous job in helping actors, technicians, and crew of the Telugu film industry by supporting them in every possible way – right from helping junior artistes clinch roles to extending financial help for children’s education, health and other issues. However, to avail such facilities, anyone related to the film industry has to become a member of the MAA.

The MAA office located in Film Chamber in Film Nagar has become a hub of activity with film personalities taking part in day-to-day affairs as well as events like press meets. This year has been crucial for the MAA artistes with more women entering the fray and competing in the elections.

Huge turnout

Out of 725 votes, 472 voters have cast their vote and it is the highest number of votes in the history of MAA elections. Actors like Chiranjeevi, Nagarjuna, Jamuna, Vennela Kishore, Nani, Paruchuri brothers, Rana Daggubati, Srikanth, Ooha, SV Krishna Reddy, Ali and others have cast their vote while a few actors like Balakrishna, Mahesh Babu, Prabhas, Allu Arjun, Ram Charan, and Jr NTR abstained from voting. Surprisingly, the former presidents of MAA Murali Mohan and Rajendra Prasad were conspicuous by their absence.
Still, the voter turnout gave a big boost to the new committee for 2019 and a record number of votes were cast.


 MAA elections