Women voters hold key in Nalgonda LS seat

Of the seven Assembly constituencies in the LS segment, women voters outnumber male voters in six

By Author  |  Published: 14th Mar 2019  10:31 pm

Nalgonda: Women voters in Nalgonda Lok Sabha constituency are expected to play a major role in the outcome of the April 11 election since they outnumber male voters in the constituency.

Of the seven Legislative Assembly constituencies in Nalgonda Lok Sabha constituency, women voters outnumber males in six Assembly segments. Except for Devarakonda Assembly constituency, they are in majority in Nalgonda, Miryalaguda, Huzurnagar, Kodad, Suryapet and Nagarjuna Sagar.

Women voters constitute 50.5 per cent of the total electorate in Nalgonda Lok Sabha constituency, with their numbers placed at 7,97,682 as against 7,81,444 male voters. The total electorate of the Lok Sabha constituency is 15,79,207.

In Nalgonda Assembly constituency, women constituted 50.3 per cent of the total voters while the number was also 50.3 per cent in Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly segment. Similarly, they constituted 50.6 per cent of total electors of Miryalaguda Assembly constituency and 50.8 per cent in Huzurnagar Assembly segment. In Kodad Assembly constituency, they constituted 50.9 per cent of the total voters while the number stood at 50.7 per cent in Suryapet
Assembly constituency.

However, the number of women voters was less than male voters in Devarakonda district. Out of the total 2,34,544 electors, women voters were 1,15,973 as against 1,18,553 male voters.