Monday, January 24, 2022
SportHockeyRCF off to winning start in Nehru Senior Hockey Tournament

RCF off to winning start in Nehru Senior Hockey Tournament

Published: 14th Nov 2021 8:16 pm

Hyderabad: Rail Coach Factory (RCF) began their campaign with a 3-2 victory over Tamil Nadu XI in the Gooncha 67th Nehru Senior Hockey Tournament for men, at the South Central Railways Sports Complex, on Sunday.

- Advertisement -

Gurpreet Singh, Karanpal Singh and Deepak scored a goal each for the winners while J Satish and H Sayam Kumar reduced the margin with a goal each for Tamli Nadu XI.

Earlier, the tournament was inaugurated in a colourful ceremony by Jayesh Ranjan, Principal secretary, I&C and IT, Government of Telangana, at the South Central Railways Sports Complex, on Sunday. The event will conclude on November 23 which will witness around 22 matches, apart from an exhibition match. Top 14 teams from the country will vie for the top honours. Four non-seeded teams from each pool will compete in the preliminary knock out rounds between November 14 and 16. One team from each Pool will qualify and join the seeded teams in the Quarterfinals. The Quarters will be played on a Round Robin basis between November 16 and 21. The two semifinals will be played on November 22 and the finals will be held on November 23.

The winners of the tournament will be presented the Inder Mohan Kapur Nehru Senior Winners trophy, made of pure silver and plated in gold and a prize money of Rs 4 lakh while the runners-up will get the Inder Mohan Kapur Nehru Senior Runners-Up Cup and a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh. The Most Valuable Player (MVP) will be awarded a brand new Benelli Imperiale 400 (BS6) while the player of the match in each game will be given branded hockey sticks.


Pool A:

Seeded: Punjab National Bank, Indian Oil, Army XI; Unseeded: Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala (RCF), Tamil Nadu XI, Mumbai XI and South Central Railway;
Pool B: Seeded: Punjab & Sind Bank, Indian Railways, CAG XI; Unseeded: Indian Airforce, Telangana XI, Indian Navy, Delhi XI.

Result: Rail Coach Factory (Gurpreet Singh1, Karanpal Singh 1, Deepak) 3 bt Tamil Nadu XI (J Satish 1, H Sayam Kumar 1) 2.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -