Tuesday, November 30, 2021
SportCricketTwo Hyderabad teams named for T20 Mushtaq Ali

Two Hyderabad teams named for T20 Mushtaq Ali

Published: 23rd Oct 2021 7:32 pm

Hyderabad: There is no let-up in the one-upmanship. The strong rebuke from the Supreme Court Chief Justice NV Ramana on the dirty affairs of the Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA), notwithstanding, the feud between President Mohammed Azharuddin and R Vijayanand-led Apex Council continues nonchalantly, as the two groups named two teams for the forthcoming T20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to be held in Haryana from November 4.

- Advertisement -

The Azharuddin group announced a 25-member team for the tournament with Tanmay Agarwal as captain and within one hour another mail from the Vijayanand group came with India international Hanuma Vihari as captain.

John Manoj, vice-president, questioned Azharuddin’s decision to release the team.”We will wait for the final decision of the court (October 27). But in the last General Body meeting held in April, the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) was formed as per the bylaws of the constitution. The CAC then appointed the five-man selection committee of Noel David (chairman), Faiyaz Baig, Sainath, Arvind Shetty and Amol Shinde. However, Shinde did not attend the meeting today,” he said.

Manoj further said the selectors released the team with the CEO in the chair. “It is the CEO who has to chair and release the team, not an individual. We are going as per the constitution. The ad-hoc committee is not in the constitution but CAC is there,” he said.

David said the MV Narasimha Rao-led CAC had appointed them as selectors. “Accordingly we sat and selected the team,” he said.

Azharuddin said since no one was willing to be part of the CAC, he had appointed an ad-hoc selection committee of Ahmed Quadri (chairman), Zakir Hussain, Alfred Absolom, Faiz Ahmed and Amol Shinde to select the team for this tournament.

Shinde is a selector in both the groups while Absolom is a selector in Azhar group and bowling coach for the Vijayanand group. The present crisis is turning into a comedy of errors. As usual there were glaring omissions particularly by the David committee by ignoring players like Sai Pragnay Reddy and Chandan Sahani, who were the top performers in the recently concluded Azhar group-conducted T20 Tiger Cup. The Quadri-led committee named Tanmay as captain overlooking the claims of International and India `A’ skipper Vihari, who took transfer from Andhra to Hyderabad this season. Not surprisingly, players who have not performed continued to be selected in both the teams.

The Azharuddin group did not name any coach but the other group named the full support staff for the team, including a new chief coach in 47-year-old Milap Mewada, who is former Baroda wicketkeeper-batsman. He replaced Anirudh Singh as coach of Hyderabad.

Vijayanand Group team: Hanuma Vihari (captain), Tanmay Agarwal (vice-captain), Mohd. Siraj, Tilak Verma, B. Sandeep, Budhi Rahul, Prathik Reddy (wk), J. Mallikarjun (wk), T. Ravi Teja, C.V. Milind, Ajay Dev Goud, Tanay Thiagarajan, Karthikeya Kak, Mir Jawed Ali, Bhagat Verma, Himalay Agarwal, Gaddam Sanketh, Aashish Shrivastav, E. Sanketh, Alankrit Agarwal, Samhith Reddy and P Nitish Reddy.

Head coach: Milap Mewada; Asst Coach: Shashank Nag; Bowling coach: Alfred Absolem; Trainer: Karthik; Physio: Bheesham Pratap Singh; Doctor: Vikas Reddy; Masseur: Md. Sajid; Team Manager: Rajender Yadav.

Azharuddin Group team: Tanmay Agarwal (captain), Tilak Varma, Hanuma Vihari, K Rohit Rayudu, B Sandeep, Mohd Siraj, Himalay Agarwal, C V Milind, Buddhi Rahul, T Ravi Teja, M Sai Pragnay Reddy (wk), Kolla Sumanth (wk), Mohammed Afreedi, Rathan Teja, Tanay Thiagarajan, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Abdul Ela Al Quraishi, Rakshann Reddii, G Ajay Dev Goud, Kartikeya Kak, Chandan Sahani, Trishank Gupta, Alankrit Agarwal, P Nitesh Reddy and HK Simha.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -