Tuesday, December 7, 2021
TelanganaWater released from Nizam Sagar project, brings joy to farmers

Water released from Nizam Sagar project, brings joy to farmers

Published: 5th Jul 2021 7:59 pm

Kamareddy: Much to the delight of farmers in erstwhile Nizamabad district, the State government has released water from Nizam Sagar project to cater to the needs of cultivation during Vaanakalam (Kharif) season. Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, along with Roads and Buildings Minister Vemula Prashanth Reddy, formally released the water on Monday.

- Advertisement -

Speaking on the occasion, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy said water was being released from Nizam Sagar project in the first week of July after several decades. He credited the achievement to Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao who had completed the Kaleshwaram Lift Irrigation Scheme to ensure water availability throughout the year. “The Kaleshwaram project had brought the past glory to Nizam Sagar. The Nizam Sagar project has been receiving water from Kondapochamma Sagar since last summer, and currently 7.4 TMC water is stored,” he said. He said water will be released in a phased manner to irrigate about 1.3 lakh acres during the monsoon season. He advised farmers to use water sparingly without any wastage.

Minister Prashanth Reddy said about 1.5 TMC water was pumped from Kaleshwaram project to Nizam Sagar project during the summer season, enabling the officials to release water to cater to the needs of farmers. He stated that the Chief Minister was ready to provide another 2 TMC, if needed. He thanked the Chief Minister for supplying water from both Godavari and Manjeera Rivers to fill Nizam Sagar project which in turn was providing water to fields in erstwhile Nizamabad district.

On the occasion, the Minister announced sanctioning of Rs 20 lakh for laying CC roads and drainages in Hasanpalli village of Nizam Sagar mandal. Along with the Speaker, he planted saplings in the village as part of the Palle Pragathi programme. Later, they inspected Guldastha guest house.

MP BB Patil, Zilla Parishad chairperson D Shobha Raju, Collector A Sharath, MLA Hanumanth Shinde and other officials were present.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -