Thursday, December 2, 2021
TelanganaTRS candidate, 2 others file papers for Warangal MLC seat

TRS candidate, 2 others file papers for Warangal MLC seat

Published: 22nd Nov 2021 8:30 pm

Warangal: TRS candidate for Warangal Local Bodies’ MLC constituency Pochampally Srinivas Reddy has filed his nomination papers here on Monday. He submitted the documents to Returning Officer (RO) and Warangal District Collector B Gopi. While he was accompanied by Minister Errabelli Dayakar Rao and MLA Aruri Ramesh during the filing of the first set of nominations, Minister Satyavathi Rathod and MLA Challa Dharma Reddy accompanied him during the submission of the second set.

- Advertisement -

Moreover, two more other nomination sets on behalf of Srinivas Reddy were filed by ZP chairpersons Kusuma Jagadish, Pagala Sampath Reddy and Gandra Jyoti, and Government Chief Whip Dasyam Vinay Bhaskar, Warangal Mayor Gundu Sudharani and MLA Nannapuneni Narender.

Speaking after filing the nomination papers, Srinivas Reddy, who hails from Varikole village near Parkal town, and popularly known as ‘Varikole Srimanthudu’ for developing the village by spending crores of rupees of his own money, has thanked Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao and Ministers KT Rama Rao for reposing trust in him by giving him an opportunity as the MLC for the second time. “I remain thankful to ministers from my district Errabelli Dayakar Rao, Satyvathi Rathod, MLAs, ZPTCs and others for their support. I will make all efforts to resolve the issues of the local bodies’ members and also ensure the development of the Warangal city,” he said.

Srinivas Reddy won the seat in the by-poll on May 31, 2019, after Konda Muralidhar Rao quit the post following a rift with the TRS leadership. He said he tried his level best to get funds for the Warangal district. Srinivas Reddy’s term as the MLC will end on January 4. “Pochampally Srinivas Reddy, who is contesting as MLC from the combined Warangal district’s local body elections, will win the seat for sure,” said Minister Errabelli Dayakar Rao

Pochampally defeated Congress nominee Enugala Venkatram Reddy with a margin of 825 votes. The number of votes in the electoral district then was 902, and of which 883 had exercised their franchise. It was a lopsided victory. Enugala Venkatram Reddy just managed to get 23 votes. Meanwhile, Vem Vasudeva Reddy of Teegalaveni village of Gudur mandal in Mahabubabad district, and Perumandla Gattaiah of Nainala village of Nellikuduru mandal in Mahabubabad district have also filed nominations as the MLC candidate as independents.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -