Tuesday, October 19, 2021
TelanganaAdilabadWomen’s Commission head tours Adilabad

Women’s Commission head tours Adilabad

Published: 10th Feb 2021 10:54 pm

Adilabad: Telangana State Women’s Commission Chairperson V Sunita Laxma Reddy asserted that the implementation of laws aimed at safety of women and their protection could be achieved only with everyone’s cooperation. She along with members of the commission convened a review meeting with authorities of various departments belonging to erstwhile Adilabad district over initiatives and schemes for empowerment women, here on Wednesday.

- Advertisement -

Stating that the commission’s sole objective was to provide safety to women in peril, Sunita opined that the crimes against women could be reduced by creating awareness among students from schooling. She sought cooperation of different departments including police in clamping down offences against women and helping the commission in achieving its goal.

The chairperson further said that women committee should be formed in workplaces to expedite probes into cases relating to violence against women. She said that steps were being taken to extend compensation to victims of
harassment and violence by creating a green channel. She sought reports on petitions received by the commission with regard to the district.

Collector Sikta Patnaik, who was present in the meeting, told the chairperson that she was regularly reviewing performance of Sakhi Centre, a one stop centre for women in distress. Heads of health, rural development, police and municipality and women welfare explained the progress of schemes relating to women and steps for curbing violence against women.

Visits Nagoba temple

Earlier, the chairperson inspected the Sakhi Centre in Adilabad district centre. She visited Nagoba temple at Keslapur village in Indervelli mandal and performed special prayers. On her journey to Adilabad district, she made a pit stop at a guest house in Nirmal town. She was welcomed by Forest Minister Indrakaran Reddy in Nirmal town and Zilla Parishad chairperson Rathod Janardhan in Adilabad.

Members of the commission K Umadevi Yadav, K Ravati Rao, Shaheen Afroz, Sudam Laxmi, Kumra Eshwari Bai, Gaddam Padma, Additional Collector M David, DSPs Venkateshawar Rao and Uday Reddy, Officers of Rural Development Organisation, Municipal commissioners, District Welfare Officers and many other officials were present.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -