Sunday, November 28, 2021
SportCricketIndian squad for WTC Final announced, Vihari makes a return

Indian squad for WTC Final announced, Vihari makes a return

Published: 7th May 2021 6:44 pm

Hyderabad: Middle-order batsman Hanuma Vihari, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja made a return to India’s squad for World Test Championship final and away five-match series against England when the Chetan Sharma-led all India senior selection committee announced the team on Friday.

- Advertisement -

However, spinner Kuldeep Yadav and pacer Navdeep Saini have been left out of India’s Test squad. Opener Prithvi Shaw and all-rounder Haridk Pandya were also not picked. A notably miss also is pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The National selectors selected a 20-member team for the tour of England.

Team India’s first stop will be in Southampton where they play New Zealand to decide the first champion of the Test format. Following their 3-1 win against England at home, India finished as the No. 1 side with 72.2 percentage points and booked their place in the final.

The WTC final against the New Zealand will be held from June 18 in Southampton followed by the Tests against England from August 4. The Test series against England will start in Nottingham, followed by matches at the Lord’s (August 12 to 16), Leeds (August 25 to 29), The Oval (September 2 to 6) and Manchester (September 10 to 14).

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -