Thursday, October 21, 2021
TelanganaBhadradri KothagudemKothagudem: 14 Maoist militia members including 3 minors surrender

Kothagudem: 14 Maoist militia members including 3 minors surrender

Published: 23rd Sep 2021 7:22 pm

Kothagudem: As many as 14 Maoist militia members of Cherla Area Committee, including three minors, surrendered before the district police and CRPF 141 Bn on Thursday.

- Advertisement -

The surrendered militia members were aged between 14 and 38 years and belonged to Yerrampadu, Rallapuram, Ramachandrapuram, Kistarampadu and Korakatpadu villages of Cherla mandal in the district.

Superintendent of Police (SP), Sunil Dutt addressing a media conference here, said the surrendered persons did not like to work as the CPI (Maoist) party militia members. But the Maoist leadership forced them to join the party.

They were vexed with Maoist’s ideology, the daily harassment for ration supply and to attend meetings and hence decided to surrender and live a peaceful life. Recently, they were forcibly taken by the Maoist party to Pesarlapadu, Puttapadu and Chanda areas in Chhattisgarh for training, the SP explained.

Tribals threatened to pay a fine of Rs 1000 if failed to attend Maoist meetings

The police have credible information about the Maoist Central Committee leaders movements on Telangana-Chhattisgarh borders and learnt that they planned a meeting in Meenagutta forests of Chhattisgarh.

The naxal leaders have ordered the tribals in Cherla and other areas to attend the meeting and carry their own ration like rice, vegetables while attending. The tribals were threatened to pay a fine of Rs 1000 if they failed to attend the meeting, SP, Dutt revealed.

He urged the Maoist dalam and militia members to come out of the Maoist party and surrender to police by contacting the nearest police station or through their relatives to join mainstream life. The police department would extend all possible support to the surrendered Maoists to live a better life, the SP said.

Bhadrachalam ASP, Dr. Vineeth G, CRPF 141 Bn Second-in-Command, Pramod Pawar, Dy. Commandant Santhosh Kumar, Additional SP (Operations), V Tirupathi, Cherla CI, B Ashok and SI Raju Varama were present.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -