Monday, December 6, 2021
Hyderabad4 UoH faculty in World’s Top 200 Researchers

4 UoH faculty in World’s Top 200 Researchers

Published: 26th Oct 2021 6:40 pm

Hyderabad: Twenty researchers of University of Hyderabad (UoH) have found a place in the database compiled by Stanford University, US, that ranks the top 2 per cent of scientists worldwide based on their research publications.

According to the university, among them, four UoH faculty have figured in the world’s top 200 researchers and 20 in top 2 per cent among Indians.

The faculty figured in the global top 200 researchers in their respective fields — MNV Prasad of the School of Life Sciences (102 rank) in the field of Environmental Sciences, Ashwini Nangia of the School of Chemistry (121) in the field of Inorganic and Nuclear Chemistry, CR Rao, whose research area is statistics and probability (184) and Pramod K Nayar of the Department of English (120) in the field of Literary Studies.

Prof Pramod K Nayar was the only Indian academic in the world’s top 200 in the field of Literary Studies, the UoH said in a press release on Tuesday.

The rankings were based on updated data analysed by Jeroen Baas, Kevin Boyack and John PA Ioannidis of Stanford University, Elsevier and SciTech Strategies for August 2021.

The UoH continues to have a significant presence in the ‘subject-wise ranking of top two per cent scientists from India (all fields)’ list created by this independent study, the release said. Also, two others who were not employees but were associated with the university in research, also made it to the coveted list.

The other UoH researchers in the top 2 per cent were Anunay Samanta (Chemistry), Goverdhan Mehta (Chemistry), Deevi Basavaiah (Chemistry), KD Sen (Chemistry), Mariappan Periasamy (Chemistry), SN Kaul (Physics), Niyaz Ahmed (Microbiology), Ashok Chatterjee (Physics), Agepati S Raghavendra (Plant Sciences), Alok Singh (AI & Image Processing), Soma Venugopal Rao (Optoelectronics & Photonics), Samudranil Pal (Chemistry), Vineet Padmanabhan (AI & Image Processing), M Kalle Arunasree (Medicinal & Biomolecular Chemistry), K Bhanu Sankara Rao (Materials) and Nagender Kumar Suryadevera (Electrical & Engineering Science).

- Advertisement -

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter.

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -