Monday, September 27, 2021
EntertainmentMirchi Music Awards South’s ode to film music

Mirchi Music Awards South’s ode to film music

Published: 1st Apr 2021 5:00 pm

Music creates Magic! And it was the power of this magic that was unleashed at the Mirchi Music Awards South as it celebrated its 11th Edition of awards!

- Advertisement -

The challenge of lack of movie releases in 2020 inspired the award committee to turn it into an opportunity to make this year a bigger and better canvas for the music fraternity by adopting the theme of ‘Best of the Decade’ which meant that the Mirchi Music Awards South was an event that adjudged the best work of the last decade 2010-2020!

Every single winner across categories in the last decade became a nominee and the jury selected the ‘Best of the Best’ for the award of the decade! Needless to say, the selection was a tough process. In keeping with protocol since inception, the entire jury process was audited by Ernst & Young. The jury had veterans and the new-age mavericks alike – Suresh Babu, Madhura Sreedhar, Jeevitha Rajasekhar, Bhaskar Bhatla, Kousalya, Kalyani Koduri, MM Srilekha, Hasam Raja, Raghu Kunche, Sunitha and Thanikella Bharani

The awards night saw the stage being set on fire by some scintillating performances – Roll Rida who rapped and danced his heart out; Regina Cassandra whose foot tapping dance has everyone wanting to join in; Shraddha Das whose performance had the audience spellbound; Hyper Adi and Zabardast team with their comedy act, all of whom treated the audience to an entertainment extravaganza.

The highlights included ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ presented to KS Chitra by Kamal Haasan, who, in turn, was honoured for ’60 years of Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema’ by the music fraternity. Singer Sunita’s performance as an ode to SP Balasubrahmanyam was charged with emotions moving the audience to tears. Singer Anurag Kulkarni was awarded the ‘SPB Award for the Most Melodious Singer of the Decade’. The song Buttabomma from Ala.. Vaikuntapurramuloo won ‘The Viral Song of the Decade’ award while Break Up Song from Arjun Reddy was the ‘Cult Song of the Decade’

Thaman’s Cinema Choopistha Mava from Race Gurram won the ‘Listeners Choice Song of the Decade’, Devi Sri Prasad’s Attarintiki Daaredi won the ‘Listeners Choice Album of the Year’.

Watch the musical evening and partake the magic of music on April 4 at 3 pm on ETV.

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Telangana Today