TRS sweeps Telangana ULB polls

Wins 181 of the 248 divisions and wards in the two Municipal Corporations and five municipalities that went to polls on April 30

By   |  Published: 4th May 2021  12:04 amUpdated: 4th May 2021  12:23 am
Polling staff dump ballot papers from a box at a counting centre in Jacherla on Monday.

Hyderabad: The ruling TRS continued with its winning spree in the electoral battlefield, sweeping the municipal elections in the State capturing 181 of the 248 divisions and wards in the two Municipal Corporations and five municipalities that went to polls on April 30.

The TRS, riding high on the development agenda, retained power in both Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation (GWMC) and Khammam Municipal Corporation (KMC) besides romping home in the five municipalities of Siddipet, Nakrekal, Jadcherla, Achampet and Kothur. CPI, the pink party’s ally in the KMC polls, won three wards taking the total tally to 184. The TRS also won five of the nine casual vacancies in various municipalities that went for bypolls taking the TRS tally to 186.

The Congress pulled in a mere 29 wards while the BJP fared even worse winning a mere 16 wards in the municipal polls.

Such was the grip of the TRS in KMC that the ruling party walked away with 43 of the total 60 municipal divisions under its belt. The TRS had won the first KMC election in 2016, winning 34 of the 50 divisions then.

In GWMC, the ruling party retained power comfortably winning 48 of the 66 wards, with the BJP placed at a distant second with 10 wards. The Congress won four wards, while independent candidates managed to win three wards besides the All India Forward Bloc securing one ward.

In Siddipet municipality, the TRS won 36 of the 43 wards while TRS rebels won from five wards. The BJP and AIMIM managed to win one ward each while Congress failed to even open its account. Interestingly, TRS rebel candidate Mohammad Riyazuddin, who won from the 20th ward, joined TRS in the presence of Finance Minister T Harish Rao an hour after his win.

In both Achampet and Jadcherla municipalities in erstwhile Mahabubnagar district, the TRS emerged victorious in 36 of the total 47 wards in the two municipalities. The ruling party won 13 of the 20 wards in Achampet and 23 of the 27 wards in Jadcherla Municipality.

In Nakrekal municipality, the TRS won 11 of the 20 wards and is assured of capturing the chairperson’s seat.

The ruling party also won the casual vacancies in Alampur, Nalgonda, Bellampally, Pragnapur and Bodhan.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .