Monday, November 29, 2021
TelanganaNo question of early elections: CM KCR

No question of early elections: CM KCR

Published: 17th Oct 2021 6:22 pm

Hyderabad: Scotching the speculations of early elections in the State, TRS President and Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao on Sunday made it clear that there is no question of going for early elections in the State. He is likely to address a massive public meeting in Huzurabad Assembly constituency as part of the bypoll campaign, after the party plenary scheduled to be held on October 25.

- Advertisement -

Addressing the joint meeting of TRS Parliamentary Party and the Legislative Party at Telangana Bhavan here, Chandrashekhar Rao stated that the TRS government is left with nearly two-and- half years of term and there was lot of work to be completed before seeking votes from people of Telangana. He wanted the party cadre especially the elected representatives to work with more vigour and win more Assembly as well as Parliamentary seats in next elections.

Sources said that the TRS President wanted the Telangana Vijaya Garjana meeting to be held at Warangal in an unprecedented manner that would shut the detractors and send a strong message of TRS being Telangana’s lifeline. The party working president and Minister KT Rama Rao has been appointed as the in-charge for the meeting being organised to mark two decades of TRS formation. It has been decided to conduct preparatory meetings in all the Assembly constituencies with at least 20 constituencies everyday at Telangana Bhavan. A large fleet of buses and other vehicles will be deployed to facilitate transportation of the participants at the meeting. Special arrangements will be made to provide food and supply water for the public who attend the meeting.

Meanwhile, the Chief Minister is learnt to have informed the MPs, MLCs and MLAs that TRS would win the Huzurabad by-election with a huge majority. He informed that TRS was in the lead with about 13 per cent ahead of BJP in the constituency. He is likely to address an electoral meeting at Huzurabad on October 27.

Further, it has been decided to reduce the number of audience attending the TRS plenary from 14,000 to 6,000 considering the Covid-19 guidelines. The party leadership is expecting at least 50 elected representatives and senior party leaders from each Assembly constituency in the State. As the village, mandal, and municipal ward level committees have been formed, it has been decided to appoint the district level and State level committees soon.

KCR files papers for TRS president post

Ministers and elected representatives filed two sets of nomination papers with the election returning officer, former MLC M Sreenivas Reddy, proposing the name of TRS founder president and Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao for the party president’s post following the release of the election notification for the post at Telangana Bhavan on Sunday.

The last date for submission of nominations is October 22. The TRS president will be elected during the party plenary scheduled to be held at Hitex on October 25. While nominations will be scrutinised on October 23, the last date for withdrawal of nomination is October 24.

Sreenivas Reddy is the Returning Officer while senior leader Paryada Krishnamurthy is the supervising officer. Former Speaker S Madhusudhana Chary will be the chairman of the resolutions committee.

On Sunday, several TRS leaders including Ministers, legislators and party general secretaries and others, filed multiple sets of nominations on behalf of Chandrashekhar Rao. Home Minister Mohd Mahmood Ali, TRS Parliamentary Party leader K Keshava Rao, MLA C Laxma Reddy, MLC Bhanuprakash, and TRS executive committee member T Ravinder Rao, proposed his candidature for the post on behalf of the Ministers, MPs, MLAs, MLCs and TRS executive committee respectively. Others supported the proposal.

Ministers S Niranjan Reddy, Talasani Srinivas Yadav, G Jagadish Reddy, Errabelli Dayakar Rao, V Srinivas Goud, Puvvada Ajay Kumar, Ch Malla Reddy, A Indrakaran Reddy, P Sabith Indra Reddy and Satyavathi Rathod, as well as MPs, MLAs and MLCs including K Kavitha supported the candidature of Chandrashekhar Rao for the party President’s post.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -