Tuesday, December 7, 2021
SportCricketIndia meet arch-rivals Pak T20 WC opener

India meet arch-rivals Pak T20 WC opener

Published: 17th Aug 2021 8:28 pm

Dubai: India will clash with arch-rivals Pakistan in their ICC T20 World Cup opener on October 24 in Dubai, the ICC announced on Tuesday.

- Advertisement -

As per the schedule announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC), India’s next opponent will be New Zealand on October 31 in Dubai, followed by a match against Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi on November 3. India’s remaining two Super 12 matches are against the winner of Group B (November 5 in Dubai) and second placed side of Group A (November 8 in Dubai).

The tournament’s first round kicks off on October 17 in Oman, with the host meeting Papua New Guinea and Bangladesh playing Scotland. Group A consists of 2014 champions Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia, while Group B has Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 12 stage.

The Super 12s — round two of the tournament, with two groups — will begin on October 23. The first semifinal will be held in Abu Dhabi on November 10, while the second will be played in Dubai on November 11. The final will be held in Dubai on November 14 with November 15 marked as reserve day. The tournament is being hosted by India in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman since a third wave of the Covid-19 is being anticipated at that time of the tournament.

Schedule (From Super 12):

Oct 23: Australia v South Africa, Abu Dhabi (1400); England v West Indies, Dubai (1800);

Oct 24: Oct: A1 v B2, Sharjah (1400); India v Pakistan, Dubai (1800);

Oct 25: Afghanistan v B1, Sharjah (1800);

Oct 26: South Africa v West Indies, Dubai (1400); Pakistan v New Zealand, Sharjah (1800);

Oct 27: England v B2, Abu Dhabi (1400); B1 v A2, Abu Dhabi (1800);

Oct 28: Australia v A1, Dubai (1400);

Oct 29: West Indies v B2, Sharjah (1400); Pakistan v Afghanistan, Dubai (1800).

30 Oct: South Africa v A1, Sharjah (14h00); Australia v England, Dubai (18h00).

31 Oct: Afghanistan v A2, Abu Dhabi (1400); India v New Zealand, Dubai (1800).

Nov 1: England v A1, Sharjah (1800);

Nov 2: South Africa v B2, Abu Dhabi (1400); Pakistan v A2, Abu Dhabi (1800);

Nov 3: New Zealand v B1, Dubai (1400); India v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi (1800);

Nov 4: Australia v B2, Dubai (1400); West indies v A1, Abu Dhabi (1800);

Nov 5: New Zealand v A2, Sharjah (1400); India v B1, Dubai (1800);

Nov. 6: Australia v West Indies, Abu Dhabi (1400); England v South Africa, Sharjah (1800);

Nov 7: New Zealand v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi (1400): Pakistan v B1, Sharjah (1800);

Nov 8: India v A2, Dubai (1800).

Knock-out stage Nov 10: Semi-final 1 (A1 v B2), Abu Dhabi (1800);

Nov 11: Semi-final 2 (B1 v A2), Dubai (1800).

Nov 14: Final, Dubai (1h00).

Also Read

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -